ECOSOC  Partnership Forum

2 February 2022, 2:00-3:30 pm EST, 7:00-8:30 pm GMT, 12:30-2:00 am IST

             *Simultaneous interpretation will be available in Spanish, French and Portuguese*

The event seeks to discuss collaborative approaches with community leaders, key decision takers and representatives from the Permanent Mission of Spain to the UN, who introduced in a joint statement with Germany an oral revision in November 2021 to the resolution on water and sanitation containing most relevant language to the UN Third Committee.

Context:

2.2 billion people worldwide do not have secure access to safe drinking water. Of these, around 785 million people lack even a basic supply with devastating consequences for the health of the affected persons. This situation leads to poorer education prospects and is a threat for female empowerment since the burden of collecting water often falls on women and girls.

Suggested discussion questions:

1.  How to effectively respond to and achieve sustainable, inclusive and resilient recovery from health crises such as the Covid-19 pandemic and its consequences?

2.  How to create collaborative approaches in order to ensure a sustainable supply of water for life, agriculture and food production and other ecosystem services and other benefits?

3.  What can we learn from the pandemic in light of the importance of hygiene and water facilities, keeping in mind the stigma of “purity and pollution” many marginalized communities face, whilst access to water and sanitation being most essential means to stop the spread of the pandemic and its variants?